How I Got A Sports Injury

by hanje53

If you read my goals for 2011, you probably noticed that most of them could be accomplished sitting down.  They we composed mostly of reading and writing activities.  And, unless I dropped my computer on my toe, or was reading a really heavy tome that reactivated my carpel tunnel syndrome, there isn’t much I was planning to do that could hurt me.

Well, sometime shortly after I wrote the blog about my goals for 2011, I realized that my blood sugar was high, and I knew I had to do something or I was going to end up on more medication, which is one of the things I am trying to avoid. There are two things I need to do when my blood sugar is high.  I need to reduce my carbohydrate consumption and I need to move more.  Right around the time I was coming to the realization that I needed to get moving, a friend of mine mentioned that she was walking every day at the high school track and I was welcome to join her and some of her friends that were doing the same. 

I didn’t even think about it.  I agreed to start walking with her immediately.  The first time I walked, a mile was all I could do.  It did not take more than a few weeks until I was walking three miles almost every day.  I am a person who does not like to exercise, but walking seems to be the thing I can ease into and for me, it is something that is measurable, which is really important for me. 

 

I created a spread sheet and used the numbers off the pedometer I wear all the time to record my steps per day and my blood sugar tests.  This gave me something to show my doctor at my next appointment.  I was making progress, my blood sugar was trending down, and my numbers of steps were trending up.  I felt better, and although it was sometimes a struggle to meet up with people because of their schedules or mine, I was making it to the track most days, and I was really thankful to my friend for getting me started again. 

One day, when no one else could meet me at the track, I went by myself, and suddenly felt the urge to run, but along with the urge, I had some fear.  I walk every day, even if it is only from the couch to the refrigerator.  I can’t remember the last time I ran.  So, since no one was around to see me fall on my face…I decided to give it a try.  I ran just a short way, and then I returned to walking.  I felt awkward and stiff, but I actually ran.  I tried it again.  It felt a little better.  I started adding short sprints into my routine and I was very proud of myself.  I wasn’t losing any weight yet, but I could see that my blood sugar was getting lower and I was feeling better and more muscular.  And, I was really excited that I was running.

One Sunday morning I didn’t have another walking partner and I asked Rod if he would go walking with me before church.  I hadn’t told him about my running, so I was looking forward to showing off a little bit.  After one time around the track, I started a short sprint.  Something didn’t feel right, but I kept going for a little while.  Not a good idea.  There was a funny feeling in my  knee and it didn’t go away. 

Many ice packs, hot water bottles, dozens and dozens of advil later and after a visit with my doctor (who was pleased about how I had gotten my blood sugar back under control), I was able to start walking again, with a brace on my knee.  When I talked to my doctor about my injury, I am embarrassed to say she laughed at me.  When I told family friends that we met for lunch about my injury, they laughed at me.  My doctor made me promise that when I returned to walking, that I not return to running. 

I am frequently inspired by older people who do amazing athletic things.  I know people who in their 70s and 80s play softball, ride bicycles long distances, hike to the bottom of the Grand Canyon, play tennis and more.  I never thought of myself as someone who would get a sports injury, because I am just not an athletic person, but here I sit, a few weeks later, brace still on my leg after my two mile walk this morning, thinking I am almost feeling good enough to run again. 

I could really do without hurting myself again.  And, I have learned the importance of some warming up exercises before I start to walk.  I was happy to have walked almost 10,000 steps two days ago.  (It was actually 9,897 steps (but who’s counting?))  My goal is to walk 10,000 steps a day.  I am not anywhere near that yet, but I am working on it.  I have not given up the idea of adding a little running back in to my walks, but I am going to make darn sure that this sports injury is completely healed before I try it again. 

The other good thing about walking is that although I used to listen to podcasts or music, and sometimes I walk with people who like to talk and walk,  most days I use that time as a time to do mental preparation for writing and sorting through what is going on in my life.  I like have that time, going round and round the track.  Just looking at the white lines on either side of my lane.   Letting my mind go where it will, making leaps from one thing to another, unresolved things from the past, my to-do list for today and tomorrow.  Taking an inventory of what is going well and what could be improved upon.

I am thankful that I had a friend who got me out exercising again.  I am glad I avoided having to take more medications for my diabetes, at least for now, and I hope some young kid in his or her 50s will be impressed at my athletic prowess when I am in my 70s and 80s.