My Friend Julie

by hanje53

I first met Julie about 5 years ago.  It was at a Unitarian Universalist Pacific Southwest District Assembly in Riverside, California. I was a vendor selling jewelry, books. chalices and a variety of other stuff.  Julie was a vendor selling an idea.  She may have had a brochure and a business card.  She had a smile that insisted you repay in kind.  Her booth was behind mine, and, as I had shown a passing interest, we chatted a lot that weekend.  She revealed to me that she was quite new to the Unitarian Universalist church and she had discovered it at about the same time she discovered recovery through Alcoholis Anyonymous.  She had a vision and she was at the District Assembly to share her vision.

I was an old timer.  I was born into the Unitarian Universalist chuch.  One of those “born Unitarians” that you sometimes hear about.  I had also been in recovery from drugs and alchohol for a lot of years…about 25 years at that point.  I thought Julie was nice, but kind of naïve.  I wished her well and enjoyed our conversations between customers. 

Last summer I was walking though the hall of vendors at the UUA General Assembly in Minneapolis and I ran into Julie again.  Her hair was a different color, but her smile was as engaging as ever, and I would have recognized her anywhere.  Julie was at a booth at General Assembly and The Unitarian Universalist Association (UUA) Addictions Ministry and The Addictions & Recovery Ministry of the Unitarian Universalist Pacific Southwest District are now real things.  (Below are their mission statements and websites).  Julie’s dream was a reality and lots of ministers and congregations were getting involved in this movement. 

I saw Julie a few more times over the week.  She had organized AA meetings and Rational Recovery meetings every day of the Assembly.  I attended twice, with an old friend, and life-long Unitarian Universalist who had recently joined the fellowship of AA.

In between those two meetings with Julie, I was able to attend a workshop at another District Assembly about Addiction and Recovery Ministries which was lead by several UU ministers from California, as well as congregants from some of their churches.  The workshop was interesting and informative and I was beginning to feel connected to this movement. Lots of important issues were discussed as well as how some of these churches had been incorporating this healing ministry into their churches. 

Last year we bought a book at Julie’s booth called The Addiction Ministry Handbook: A Guide For Faith Communities by Denis Meacham.  The book provides practical steps and information for faith communities serving members affected by drug and alcohol abuse.  It outlines:

  1. The basic of drug abuse—from the causes of chemical dependence and the progression of drug use to the six stages toward changing addictve behavior.
  2. The special role of faith comunities and pastoral caregives in supporting recovery.
  3. Programming and initiatives that form the core of a congregational-bassed addiction ministry.
  4. An alcohol abuse assessment tool, a congregational addiction assessment questionnaire and a list of web sites and books for futher information.

Some churches have had a series of workshops educating themselves about addiction and recovery in the same way the church I attend has had workshops on immigration issues and on LGBT issues when we were on our way to becoming a Welcoming Congregation.  Some UU churches have worked on making the 12 steps and 12 traditions of 12 step groups and the 7 Principles and 6 sources of Unitarian Universalism, which have some similarities, work together in an ongoing way through addiction and recovery ministry.

As I look forward General Assembly this year at the end of June,. I hope that Julie will be there so we can reconnect and share our experiences over the past year.  I have changed my haircolor several times this year and I am looking forward to seeing what color Julie’s hair is this summer!  We will recognize each other because we have a deep connection even though we have only met a few times.  I hope there will be more workshops on adiction and recovery ministry that I can attend.  I hope I will learn ways to bring back what I learn to my friends in recovery and my fellow congregants.  I hope that there will be AA meetings during the Assembly which will give me a chance to regroup, learn from others from around the country and center myself in the midst of what can be a whrlwind of activity and a very exhausting few days.

The Unitarian Universalist Association (UUA) Addictions Ministry is called to walk together with congregations and religious professionals to educate individuals, families, congregations and communities about the suffering caused by addiction.

Our purpose in doing this ministry is to transform cultures of misuse and abuse into cultures of healing, wholeness, and health.

http://www.uua.org/leaders/leaderslibrary/addictionsministry/131107.shtml

The Addictions & Recovery Ministry of the Unitarian Universalist Pacific Southwest District promotes and supports programs in UU organizations in Southern California, Southern Nevada and Arizona that are in alignment with our UU principles, that support addiction prevention and recovery for our church congregations and the larger community.

We hope to foster the development of addictions ministries throughout our denomination through sharing with Unitarian Universalists interested in the challenges and effects of addictions within our congregations and the larger society and to build connections and networks among them

http://www.pswdaddictions.org